July 6th Marks the Death of John Hus

Several attempts were made to get Hus to recant. He refused them all. His final sentence came on July 6, 1415. At the sentencing, he was placed on a high stool in the middle of the church and sentenced to death. The chronicler of the events noted that they placed a hood over his head, with pictures of the devil and the word “heresiarch” (a leader of heretics), then committed his soul to the devil. Hus responded, “And I commit myself to the most gracious Lord Jesus.” In a letter written the night before his sentencing, Hus prayed that if his death would contribute anything to God’s glory, then he might be able to meet it without fear. Hands bound behind his back, Hus was chained to the stake. Wood and hay were piled up to his chin. Rosin was sprinkled on it. He was given one last chance to recant and be set free. Bravely, he refused and said, “I shall die with joy today in the faith of the gospel which I have preached.” As they lit the flames around him he sang out twice, “Christ thou Son of the Living God, have mercy upon me.” He died singing and praying.

http://www.lavistachurchofchrist.org/LVarticles/JohnHusThePreReformer.htm

One comment on “July 6th Marks the Death of John Hus

  1. Luke says:

    Pastor,
    I created a blog entry to address Dever’s comments. I do not want the potential of having a disagreement with people that I do not know and that do not know me. Therefore, I have decided to make the entry password protected and to give it to people that are known to one another. Whenever I create such a post I will make the password “ntbc”. Feel free to post any comments there.

    Luke

Leave a Reply

